The Mary Fran Myers Scholarship recognizes outstanding individuals who share Myers' commitment to disaster research and practice and have the potential to make a lasting contribution to reducing disaster vulnerability.

At least one scholarship recipient each year will receive financial support allowing them to attend the Annual Natural Hazards Research and Applications Workshop. Scholarships can cover part or all of transportation, meals, lodging, and Workshop registration costs. Learn more about the scholarship on the Mary Fran Myers Scholarship page.

This year’s 2024 recipient is:

Olasunkanmi Habeeb Okunolaa Olasunkanmi Habeeb Okunola

Olasunkanmi Habeeb Okunola is a visiting scientist at the United Nations University-Institute for Environment and Human Security in Bonn, Germany. He developed a keen interest in disaster research following his firsthand experience with extreme flood events in Nigeria in 2011. After receiving the Alexander von Humboldt and DAAD Climate Change Research in Africa scholarships, he came to Germany to advance his research on climate change adaptation and community resilience to cascading flood risks. Currently, his research focuses on understanding the recovery pathways and resilient rebuilding processes of communities affected by extreme climate events in Germany and Nigeria.

With more than 10 years of experience in the private and public sectors, Okunola is an expert in disaster risk reduction and climate change adaptation. His previous work involved developing and implementing comprehensive disaster management plans, conducting risk assessments, designing resilience-building initiatives, and providing capacity-building training on disaster preparedness, response, and inclusive education in informal settlements in Sub-Saharan Africa. Okunola holds a doctorate in urban and regional planning from Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria. His doctoral research focused on effective strategies for disaster risk reduction and their implementation in urban areas.

To see a list of all previous winners, please visit the Scholarship Winners page.