Hazards and Disaster Research Centers in Europe

This page includes a listing of university-based hazards and disaster research centers, organized alphabetically and by UN subregion in Europe.

Eastern Europe

Center/Institute University Country
Sergeev Institute of Environmental Geoscience (IEG RAS) Russian Academy of Sciences Russia

Northern Europe

Center/Institute University Country
Copenhagen Center for Disaster Research University of Copenhagen Denmark
Centre for Advanced Security Theory (CAST) University of Copenhagen Denmark
HUMLOG Institute Hanken School of Economics and National Defence University of Finland (NDU) Finland
Institute of Seismology University of Helsinki Finland
Centre for Integrated Emergency Management (CIEM) University of Adger Norway
Center for Risk Management and Societal Safety (SEROS) University of Stavanger Norway
Arctic Safety Centre University Centre in Svalbard (UNIS) Svalbard and Jan Mayen
Centre of Natural Hazards and Disaster Science Uppsala University Sweden
Division of Risk Management and Societal Safety Lund University Sweden
Lund University Centre for Risk Assessment and Management (LUCRAM) Lund University Sweden
Centre for Climate and Safety Karlstad University Sweden
Centre for Societal Security Swedish Defence University Sweden
Risk and Crisis Research Centre (RCR) Mid Sweden University Sweden
Cambridge University Centre for Risk in the Built Environment Cambridge University United Kingdom
Centre for Urban Processes, Resilient Infrastructures & Sustainable (Built) Environments (UPRISE) University of Salford United Kingdom
Flood Hazard Research Centre Middlesex University United Kingdom
Global Disaster Resilience Centre University of Huddersfield United Kingdom
Hazard Research Centre University College London (UCL) United Kingdom
Institute of Hazard, Risk and Resilience Durham University United Kingdom
IRDR Centre for Gender and Disaster University College London (UCL) United Kingdom
Institute for Risk & Disaster Reduction (IRDR) University College London (UCL) United Kingdom
Disaster and Development Network (DDN) Northumbria University United Kingdom
Cabot Institute University of Bristol United Kingdom
Disaster Management Centre Bournemouth University United Kingdom
Centre for Integrated Research on Risk and Resilience (CIRRR) King's College London United Kingdom
Centre for Observation and Modelling of Earthquakes, Volcanoes and Tectonics (COMET) University of Leeds United Kingdom
King's Centre for Risk Management (KCRM) King's College London United Kingdom

Southern Europe

Center/Institute University Country
Eurac Research Climate and Disaster Risk Unit Eurac Research Italy
Institute of Earthquake Engineering and Engineering Seismology (IZIIS) Ss. Cyril and Methodius University Republic of North Macedonia
Cátedra Reducción del Riesgo de Desastres: Ciudades Resilientes Universidad de La Laguna Spain

Western Europe

Center/Institute University Country
Centre for Research on the Epidemiology of Disasters Université Catholique de Louvain Belgium
The Center for Disaster Management and Risk Reduction Technology Karlsruhe Institute of Technology Germany
The Disaster Research Unit Freie Universität Berlin Germany
Institute for Environment and Human Security (UNU-EHS) United Nations University Germany
Institute for Public Safety and Emergency Management University of Wuppertal Germany
The Center for Security Studies ETH—Zurich Switzerland

If you have questions about this project, please contact Lori Peek at lori.peek@colorado.edu. If you would like your academic research center listed on this page, or if you’d like to update or add information to a center currently on the map, please contact Mason Mathews at mason.mathews@colorado.edu.