National Science Foundation CAREER Awards

Pic Description

The National Science Foundation (NSF) Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program is a Foundation-wide activity that supports early-career faculty who have the potential to serve as academic role models in research and education and to lead advances in the mission of their department or organization. Activities pursued by early-career faculty should build a firm foundation for a lifetime of leadership in integrating education and research.

Ali Nejat, the ideator of After the Storm, received a NSF CAREER Award (#1454650) in 2015 from the Civil, Mechanical, and Manufacturing Innovation (CMMI), Humans, Disasters, and the Built Environment (HBDE) Program. Other recent recipients from relevant programs in CMMI include the following individuals.


Henry Burton, University of California-Los Angeles
CAREER: From Performance-Based Engineering to Resilience and Sustainability: Design and Assessment Principles for the Next Generation of Buildings (NSF Award #1554714)

Catherine Gorle, Stanford University
CAREER: Quantifying Wind Hazards on Buildings in Urban Environments (NSF Award #1751216)

Ashlea Milburn, University of Arkansas
CAREER: Information Accuracy and the Use of Social Data in Planning for Disaster Response (NSF Award #1554412)

Andrew Myers, Northeastern University
CAREER: Advancing Multi-Hazard Assessment and Risk-Based Design for Offshore Wind Energy Technology (NSF Award #1552559)

Brandon Ross, Clemson University
CAREER: Quantifying the Adaptability of Building Structures, Envelopes, and Foundations (NSF Award #1553565)


Ning Lin, Princeton University
CAREER: Understanding and Designing Structures for Hurricane Wind and Surge Hazards Under Changing Climate Conditions (NSF Award #1652448)

Jessica Heier Stamm, Kansas State University
CAREER: Measuring the Impact of Public Health Supply Chain Coordination Structures on the Effectiveness of Disaster Preparedness and Response (NSF Award #1653293)


Alice Alipour, Iowa State University
CAREER: Resiliency of Electric Power Networks under Wind Loads and Aging Effects through Risk-Informed Design and Assessment Strategies (NSF Award #1751844)

Ward Lyles, University of Kansas
Integrated Modeling of Hazard Mitigation Stakeholder Networks for Compassionate, Sustainable Risk Reduction (NSF Award #1751696)

Gary Prinz, University of Arkansas
CAREER: A Micromechanics-Based Approach to Ductile Fracture Simulation in Additively Manufactured Steels for Seismic Structural Fuse Design (NSF Award #1751699)

Seymour Spence, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
CAREER: Using Metamodeling to Enable High-Fidelity Modeling in Risk-Based Multi-Hazard Structural Design (NSF Award #1750339)

James Womble, West Texas A&M University
CAREER: Remote Sensing for Advanced Understanding of Tornado Actions and Broadened STEM Education in Rural West Texas (NSF Award #1751018)


Ali Ghahremaninezhad, University of Miami
CAREER: Bio-Inspired Genetically Engineered Self-Healing for Cementitious Materials (NSF Award #1846984)

Ali Mostafavi, Texas A&M University
Household Network Modeling and Empathic Learning for Integrating Social Equality into Infrastructure Resilience Assessment (NSF Award #1846069)

Elaina Sutley, University of Kansas
Assessing the Role of Buildings and Organizations in Community Disaster Resilience (NSF Award #1847373)

Finally, a special thanks goes to NSF-CMMI Program Directors Robin Dillon-Merrill and Joy Pauschke, as well as NSF-Decision, Risk, and Management Science Program Director Robert O’Connor, who have supported many next generation leaders in the hazards and disaster research field.