Researchers Meeting Acknowledgements

The Natural Hazards Center and CONVERGE teams and the leadership of the International Sociological Association Research Committee on Disasters are so pleased to welcome the attendees of the 2020 Researchers Meeting. Thank you, one and all, for joining with us virtually this year.

Special Thanks

The Natural Hazards Center, CONVERGE, and the International Sociological Association Research Committee on Disasters also wish to offer special thanks to the following people and organizations.

  • Sara Hamideh and Sabine Loos who served as chair and co-chair of the Researchers Meeting Organizing Committee. They worked tirelessly to organize sessions, respond to participants, and ensure that members of the research community would have the opportunity to share their research. Their intelligence, thoughtfulness, and work ethic helped inform every aspect of the program. The other dedicated members of the Organizing Committee—Terri Adams-Fuller, Hiba Baroud, Kyle Breen, Lauren Dent, Nicole Hutton, Kanako Iuchi, Laura Olson, and Alyssa Provencio—carefully read and edited every abstract and assembled an intellectually rigorous and topically diverse final program.

  • The program directors and other leaders from the National Science Foundation who are instrumental in supporting science, engineering, and interdisciplinary research efforts in hazards and disasters.

Funding Support

The 2020 Researchers Meeting is made possible with funding support from the National Science Foundation (NSF), Division of Civil, Mechanical, and Manufacturing Innovation (CMMI) (Award #1841338 and Award #1635593). Any opinions, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in this meeting are those of the participants and do not necessarily reflect the views of the NSF.