Speakers and Presenters

Click on the names below to learn more about the our 2018 Natural Hazards Workshop Speakers and Presenters.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | V | W

Leslie Abrahams, Institute for Defense Analysis

David Abramson, New York University

Charlotte Acton, Risk Management Solutions

Supriya Akerkar, Oxford Brookes University

David Alamia, Harris County Homeland Security and Emergency Management

Bob Alexander, Rural Livelihood Risk Management Consulting

Bill Anderson, Transportation Research Board at the National Academies

David Applegate, U.S. Geological Survey

Lauren Alexander Augustine, National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine

Jill Barnes, Los Angeles Unified School District

Rebecca Beavers, National Park Service

Nancy Beers, Center for Disaster Philanthropy

Doug Bellomo, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

DeeDee Bennett, University of Nebraska Omaha

Ellen Berggren, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Phil Berke, Texas A&M University

Virginia Berndt, University of Delaware

Lisa Blake, New York City Emergency Management

Sara Bondesson, Swedish Defence University

Dana Brechwald, Association of Bay Area Governments

Hannah Brenkert-Smith, University of Colorado Boulder

Sherri Brokopp Binder, BrokoppBinder Research & Consulting

Eric Carbone, U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Arrietta Chakos, Urban Resilience Strategies

Christopher Clavin, Science & Technology Policy Institute

Leremy Colf, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Ryan Colker, National Institute of Building Sciences

Santina Contreras, The Ohio State University

Tim Cook, Washington State Emergency Management

Stephen Costello, City of Houston

Elena Craft, Environmental Defense Fund

Susan Cutter, University of South Carolina

Natasha DeJarnett, American Public Health Association

Sarah DeYoung, University of Georgia

Alexa Dietrich, Wagner College

Maria Dillard, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Robin Dillon-Merrill, National Science Foundation

Aram Dobalian, Veterans Emergency Management Evaluation Center

Simone Domingue, Natural Hazards Center

Colleen Durfee, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Christopher Dyer

Corey Eide, Team Rubicon

David Eisenman, University of California, Los Angeles

Chris Emrich, University of Central Florida

Suzanne Frew, The Frew Group

Edward Gabriel, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

JC Gaillard, University of Auckland

Mike Gavin, City of Fort Collins

Brandi Gilbert, Urban Institute

June Gin, Veterans Emergency Management Evaluation Center

Jonathan Godt, U.S. Geological Survey

Barb Graff, Seattle Office of Emergency Management

Sara Hamideh, Iowa State University

Edward Hecker, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Marccus Hendricks, University of Maryland, College Park

Andrew Herseth, Federal Emergency Management Agency

Derrick Hiebert, Washington State Emergency Management

David Hondula, Arizona State University

William Hooke, American Meteorological Society

Suzanne Horsley, University of Alabama

Ayse Hortacsu, Applied Technology Council

Paul Huang, Federal Emergency Management Agency

Kenneth Hudnut, U.S. Geological Survey

Tom Hughes, Pennsylvania Emergency Management

Iain Hyde, Colorado Homeland Security and Emergency Management

Sascha Ishikawa, Rand Corporation

Lisa Marie Jackson, Emergency Management Victoria

Pamela Jenkins, University of New Orleans

Lynn Jennings, Legal Services Corporation

Alessandra Jerolleman, Jacksonville State University

Laurie Johnson, Laurie Johnson Consulting

Katherine Johnson, National Institute of Standards and Technology

David Johnston, Massey University

Ilan Kelman, University College London

Tracy Kijewski-Correa, University of Notre Dame

Kevin King, Mennonite Disaster Service

Richard Krajeski, Lowlander Center

Jamie Kruse, East Carolina University

Howard Kunreuther, University of Pennsylvania

Raymond Laine, Ozengage

Lisa Langer, Scion

Larry Larson, Association of State Flood Plain Managers

Shirley Laska, Lowlander Center

Jennifer Lazo, City of Berkeley

Mary Leinhos, U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Lauren Leuck, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Sophia Liu, U.S. Geological Survey

Hans Louis-Charles, University of Nebraska Omaha

Kristin Ludwig, U.S. Geological Survey

Penny Luehring, U.S. Forest Service

Ward Lyles, University of Kansas

Karen MacClune, ISET International

Hussam Mahmoud, Colorado State University

Michael Mahoney, Federal Emergency Management Agency

Rejina Manandhar, Arkansas Tech University

Brian Mayer, University of Arizona

Steven McCabe, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Samantha Medlock, Willis Towers Watson

Cheryl Miller, Diablo Fire Safe Council

Aubrey Miller, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

Judith Mitrani-Reiser, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Jim Murphy, AECOM

Galen Newman, Texas A&M University

Mai Nguyen, UNC Dept of City & Regional Planning

Skye Niles, Natural Hazards Center

Terri Norton, University of Nebraska Lincoln

Oluponmile Olonilua, Texas Southern University

Robert Olshansky, University of Illinois at Urabana-Champaign

Laura Olson, Georgetown University

Robert O’Connor, National Science Foundation

Sneha Patel, NYC Office of Emergency Preparedness and Response

Courtney Patterson, Portland Bureau of Emergency Management

Jacqueline Patterson, NAACP

Russ Paulsen, Paulsen and Associates

Walt Peacock, Texas A&M University

Ines Pearce, Pearce Global Partners Inc.

Alice Pennaz, U.S. Geological Survey

Sally Phillips, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

John Plodinec, Community and Regional Resilience Institute

Keith Porter, University of Colorado Boulder

Roger Pulwarty, National Integrated Drought Information System

Christa Remington, Florida International University

Adam Rose, University of Southern California

Jenniffer Santos-Hernandez, University of Puerto Rico-Río Piedras

Alka Sapat, Florida Atlantic University

Siamak Sattar, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Josh Sawislak, AECOM

Cindy Schmidt, National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Susan Schmitz, Veterans Emergency Management Evaluation Center

Philip Schneider, National Institute of Building Sciences

Ted Serrant, Houston Independent School District

Nick Shufro, Federal Emergency Management Agency

Ben Smilowitz, Disaster Accountability Project

Gavin Smith, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Adam Smith, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Erika Spanger-Siegfried, Union of Concerned Scientists

Jeremy Stone, University of British Columbia

Lisa Grow Sun, Brigham Young University

Jeannette Sutton, University of Kentucky

Cindy Swearingen, Mason Public Schools

Eric Tate, University of Iowa

Shigeo Tatsuki, Doshisha University

Edward Thomas, Natural Hazard Mitigation Association

Forbes Tompkins, The Pew Charitable Trusts

Joseph Trainor, University of Delaware

Bethany Van Brown, Western Carolina University

Shannon Van Zandt, Texas A&M University

Brian Varrella, City of Fort Collins

Suzanne Vermeer, Federal Emergency Management Agency

Kanmani Vetekateswaran, ISET International

Jamie Vickery, Natural Hazards Center

Melissa Villarreal, Natural Hazards Center

Tricia Wachtendorf, University of Delaware

David Wald, U.S. Geological Survey

Wendy Walsh, Federal Emergency Management Agency

William Waugh, Georgia State University

Anne Wein, U.S. Geological Survey

Christopher White, Anchor Point Group

John Wiener, University of Colorado Boulder

Laura Wolf, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Amy Wolkin, U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Nathan Wood, U.S. Geological Survey